RP Tag, You're It

Phoenix

“Fire Opal, are you sure you’re ready for this? This is a big task. I’d understand if you want more time to prepare before you take on something like–”

“I’m ready, Obsidian. I’ve been working toward this for six years. Have some faith in me. Believe that I can do this. Please.” The man looked at her with soft eyes, eyes full of concern and love. A hand reached out and brushed her almost waist-length curls back from her face. Then it stayed there, holding her cheek.

Fire Opal knew what his hesitation was. She was small, she was young, and this meta was rumored to be particularly dangerous. But she was also the most powerful meta on their team. Sulphur didn’t have her combat skills, Malachite didn’t have her raw power, and Lapis could never hope to hold a candle to her ability to track. Fire Opal was the right choice for this.

But she was also his sister. His baby sister, not even eighteen yet. Obsidian was overprotective of her. She wanted to go out and see the world, to fight for their cause. They were newly formed, and they needed the power that a meta like this could offer. A meta who made people disappear so completely. And so violently, if the scenes were to be believed. Whoever this guy was, whatever he did, he could be useful. And Fire Opal could be useful. She could prove it.

She would prove it.

With a soft sigh, he finally let his shoulders fall in defeat. “Alright. Alright, I’ll trust you on this. Don’t die, understand? I can’t lose you, too, Opal.” She jumped up, her amber eyes bright in her freckled face. She threw her arms around his shoulders, giggling.

“Thank you, thank you, thank you! I promise, I won’t let you down.” He wrapped his arms around her shoulders in return, weaving his arms through her curls. “And I promise… I won’t die.”